I asked my son what he would write to introduce his Maman (me) to new friends.

I asked my son what he would write to introduce his Maman (me) to new friends.


About Delphine

I was born in 1970 in Paris, France. I realize that from your point of view it makes me a very old thing, but from mine, not so much. I come from a very large family full of brothers and uncles. I'm the fourth generations of girls going to college/university in my family, which you'll be surprised to know, wasn't very common when I was young.

One of my favorite thing as a little girl was to be with my family. Most kids love to be with their parents and do everyday things together. It doesn't have to be complicated or fancy, just doing things together is the best fun. I was very lucky,  I have a big family of very curious people, always willing to share what they just learned or the last joke they read. My books follow that path, providing fun moments to share together. 

When I was a teenager I studied real hard to get into a good art school, and I never stopped  to study. I'm not a gifted artist. I'm just one that works a lot.

At school ( I went to les Arts Déco school in Paris) I studied illustration and computer arts. I didn't become an illustrator immediately after school. I worked a very long time in the Computer Graphics  industry, on movies and advertizing and special effects and video games too. I moved to the United States in 2004 to work on movies and games, and I really, really liked it.

I went back to illustration when I moved here. I wanted to create paper toys and fun stories to share with my nieces and nephews on the other side of the planet, so we could spend nice moments together.  I would post them on my blog every Wednesday, because it's a short school day in France.

 A lot of parents and friends joined in on my blog and suddenly there was a whole public for my ideas. A publisher contacted me to make books, then another. I also had a little boy, and it was even more fun because I could share the creative process with him. My books kind of follow his childhood, as he grows up  I feel like doing more grown up stuff myself. 
I now live in Los Angeles, California, a very different life from the one I had as a girl in Paris.